Successful Transport Of My C&P 8 x 12 Press!

I suppose you have to be a tad insane to try and move a 1200 pound letterpress, and maybe just a tad more insane to try and do it in a Chicago January. It was in the 20s today! That’s awesome compared to the few days before. Anyway, I took my trusty camera to document the experience. It took a while and wasn’t too stressful, but all the same I’m glad it’s over and the press is now in it’s new home in Skokie.

Tied down on a mini-pallet

Closeup of the C&P tied down

Paul Aken clearing some of the snow away from the loading area

My press was amongst many friends at The Platen Press Museum in Zion, IL

The motor, detached

Tied up and ready to roll

The arrival of the moving truck

The lift gate wouldn’t quite go all the way down…

So Paul had to scrape some ice away

My pallet jack or yours?

Paul and Paul using the pallet jack to push the big baby onto the lift gate

Adjusting placement on the lift gate

Well positioned on the lift gate

Lifting, lifting…

Need a letterpress moved in Chicago? Try Anything Heavy! Everything went smoothly and I would definitely recommend them.

Inside the truck, all 1200 pounds

Secured and ready for transport!

Up goes the motor

Arrival in Skokie

Down she goes

The “enabler” i.e. allower of warehouse usage (Ben, I told you I’d put you on my blog)

Temporary position until further warehouse rearrangement

Me and my C&P!

I love my big baby.

About Nina

I am a design consultant, writer, letterpress printer, nature enthusiast, and lover of local/organic food...with a dash of rock and roll. Also, I want to be a cowboy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Successful Transport Of My C&P 8 x 12 Press!

  1. Bredlo says:

    Congrats – how exciting! Love the photos, and it’s great to see Paul still excitedly rushing around, pushing iron on and off skids for us silly young letterpressers.I’m finally getting started on reassembling mine:www.flickr.com/bredlo

  2. Bredlo says:

    Duh ~ you and I have already been talking over at Flickr, didn’t even realize it. : )

  3. Laura says:

    Hello! Just found your blog and enjoying it! This post really called to me because…I just moved a 8×12 new series C&P in January 🙂 Here’s my post about it: http://laurawentzel.com/happycamper/2011/01/18/my-new-press/
    (notice that we both posted about our moves on the SAME day? Mine is just two years later…)
    We had to move from a basement which was quite the job.

    So do you like your C&P? Any tips to share? I haven’t tried it out yet since I have to keep mine in my parents garage currently — I live in a tiny 2nd floor apartment! It’s torture not to have it with me, so needless to say, I’m looking for a new apartment on a ground floor.

    Well it’s great to see a fellow C&P owner, keep up the great work!

  4. Nina says:

    OK, that IS weird that we both moved our C&Ps on the same day! I thought mine was a chore but man…bringing it up from a basement must have been a chore. A good kind of chore though…I bet you felt really accomplished afterwards. 😉 I have grown to like Leonard more the more I have used him and the more I have learned about how to make adjustments. In fact, I think I’m going to write a quick post about the best things I’ve learned. Good luck, and stay in touch!

Leave a Reply

